

# FERA Newsletter

Volume 17, Number 1

May 2008

### Executive Committee

President Akihito Kamata Florida State University

President Elect Wendy Dickinson Ringling College of Art and Design

Secretary
Sam Whitten
Hillsborough County Public Schools

Treasurer
Denise Cantalupo
Sarasota County Public Schools

Past President Natalie Roca Sarasota County Public Schools

#### **Directors**

Frank Gilbert
Orange County Schools

Jan Morphew Florida Dept. of Education

Abbas Tashakkori Florida International University

### **Committee Chairs**

FJER
Jeff Kromrey
University of South Florida

Webmaster & Electronic Communications Lisa Adkins University of South Florida

http://www.feraonline.org/

## The President's Corner Akihito Kamata

We had quite a success in 2006 FERA Annual Meeting, held in Tampa, Florida. Many FERA members worked hard to make the arrangements and to bring you an excellent program. Thanks to Salih Binici, the Chair of the Proposal Review Committee; John Ferron, the Chair of the Local Arrangement Committee; John Hilderbrand, the Chair of the Sponsors, Vendors and Social Arrangement Committee; Ron Dailey, Chair of the Awards and Recognitions Committee; David Miller, the Chair of the Distinguished Paper Award Committee; and Denise Cantalupo, the Chair of the Evaluation Committee.

The winners of the 2007 Distinguished Paper Award went to Jamie Maerten-Rivera, Randall Penfield, Nicholas Myers, Okhee Lee and Cory Buxton of University of Miami. Congratulations to All!

A big applause for our sponsors for their generosity and the continued support they've shown to our organization over the year. We would like to acknowledge our 2006 Sponsors: CTB/McGraw Hill, Electronic Learning Products, Inc., Espro Financial, ETS, FCAT Test Maker, Florida State University, The Grow Network/McGraw Hill, Harcourt Assessment, Inc., Learning Express, NCS Pearson, The Princeton Review, Riverside Publishing, Scantron Corporation, and Scientific Learning Corporation.

The 2007 conference kicked-off with an informative pre session "Advanced Meta Analysis with Teacher Qualification Study Data" presented by Betsy Becker, Ariel Aloe, and Sunny Kim from Florida State University. Special recognition goes to Cornelia Orr and Kris Ellington from the Florida Department of Education, who arranged the FCAT Technical Advisory Committee members to extend their stay from their regularly scheduled meeting, and sponsored the FERA panel session on the behind-the-scenes psychometric aspects of the FCAT. Our gratitude is extended to keynote speakers; Terry Vaccaro from Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Val Shute from Florida State University, and Jerry Tindal from University of Oregon to donate their time to share their expertise with us.

During the Business Meeting held at the end of the 2007 Annual Meeting, new officers and directors were elected: Wendy Dickinson from Ringling College of Art and Design was recognized as the new President-Elect; Natalie Roca became our Past President; and Abbas Tashakkori from Florida International University was elected as the new Director. Frank Gilbert and Jan Morphew will continue as Directors. Denise Cantalupo was elected as Treasurer and Sam Whitten as Secretary. Our heartfelt gratitude is extended to three individuals who leave the Board: David Miller as Past President, Tony Onwuegbuzie as Director, and Wilma Ferrer as Secretary. We are also happy to announce that the Graduate Student Representatives are Karina Alvarez from University of Miami and Kuzey Bilir from Florida State University.

The 2008 Annual FERA meeting will be held November 19-21, 2008 in Orlando, Florida, at Rosen Centre Hotel. The November FERA meeting in Orlando is the perfect place to catch up on all that is happening in the world of educational research, measurement, and evaluation. It is also an ideal setting for bringing the family along and taking an excursion to the area's many attractions!

Spring is in the air and time to start thinking about those paper proposals for November 2008. Details for submission of papers appear in this issue of the Newsletter and may also be obtained online at the FERA website. On behalf of the 2008 FERA Board, we thank you for the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to working with all of you to put together an outstanding program this fall.

### Did you make your hotel reservations?

The Rosen Centre Hotel has a reservation page set up just for FERA Members. Go to FERAONLINE.ORG and click on the hotel picture. This will take you a reservation page specifically designed to give you a discount rate! A block of rooms has been reserved for November 19 - 21, 2008. The special room rate will be available until October 14th or until the group block is sold-out, whichever comes first. Guests wishing to arrive early may do so starting November 10th and depart as late as November 19th, based on availability.



**Rosen Centre** Hotel 9840 International Drive Orlando, FL 32819 (407) 996-9840



The hotel is located in the heart of Orlando. The November FERA meeting in Orlando is the perfect place to catch up on all that is happening in the "world" of educational research, measurement, and evaluation. And, it's an ideal setting for bringing the family along and enjoy the areas many attractions - including Disney World, Universal Studios Florida, Disney's Hollywood Studios, SeaWorld Orlando, and Cirque du Soleil's La Nouba.

### **Conference News** Wendy Dickinson, 2008 Program Chair

We are fortunate to host an excellent group of Speakers for our Annual Meeting, details are in the Program Summary draft. New this year is the Opening Session – free to all registered attendees! [There is no longer a separate fee for Presession] Please plan to attend the Opening Session Wednesday with our Invited Speaker, Dr. Isadore Newman. I look forward to seeing everyone in Orlando.

### Thank you 2008 FERA Committee Members:

Program Chair, Annual Meeting

**Paper Proposal Review** 

**Distinguished Paper Award** 

**Educational Researcher of the Year** 

Russell Kropp Award

**Evaluation Committee** 

**Local Arrangements** 

Sponsors, Vendors

Wendy Dickinson, Ringling College of Art and Design

Salih Binici, Florida Department of Education

**TBD TBD** 

Bruce Hall, Professor Emeritus, USF

Denise Cantalupo, Sarasota County Schools

Debbie Hahs-Vaughn, University of Central Florida

Natalie Roca, Sarasota County Schools

Standing Committees:

Professional Ed. and Training

Membership

Mark Shermis, University of Florida

Bonnie Swan, University of Central Florida

A very special thank you to Dr. Lee Baldwin and Dr. Frank Gilbert for their service as the hotel site acquisition team.