

FERA Newsletter

Volume 18, Number 3

September 2009

Executive Committee

President Wendy Dickinson Ringling College of Art & Design

President Elect John Ferron University of South Florida

Past President Akihito Kamata Florida State University

Secretary Kathy Dailey Polk County Public Schools

Treasurer Denise Cantalupo Sarasota County Public Schools

Directors

Salih Binici Florida Dept. of Education

Donna Buckner Polk County Public Schools

Abbas Tashakkori Florida International University

Standing Committee Chairs

FJER Jeff Kromrey University of South Florida

Membership Bonnie Swan University of Central Florida

Professional Development & Training Robert Dedrick University of South Florida

Webmaster Lisa Adkins University of South Florida

The President's Corner *Wendy Dickinson*

Greetings! We now have updated conference news and events to share with our members for the 54th Annual Meeting of the Florida Educational Research Association.

Registration will open at 10 a.m.at Registration Desk 4, on the second floor. The Conference Opening Session will start at 12 noon, with Invited Speaker, Linda Blanton (FIU), speaking on the topic of teaching and teacher education for inclusion. Refreshments will be available at the start of the Opening Session. Six paper sessions are scheduled for Wednesday afternoon; concluding with a Florida Department of Education sponsored session. After the FLDOE session, be sure to join us at the Wednesday Welcome Reception, held on the second floor pool balcony.

Thursday morning begins with concurrent paper sessions, and continues with Invited Speaker Marc Matthews (College Board). The Graduate Student meeting, with refreshments provided, will begin at 12:15 p.m. The Graduate Student Poster session is scheduled directly following the Graduate student meeting, with extended hours for viewing of the posters.

Thursday afternoon, the QBIC Workshop (Quantitative Biology in the Classroom) is scheduled in the Signature 2 room, with the FATA session immediately following. The FATA session will feature a presentation on the Florida Assessment for Instruction in Reading (FAIR). Join us for the Thursday evening Reception, in Signature 2, from 5:30 - 7:30 p.m.

Friday morning, Invited Speaker Greg Hancock (University of Maryland), will speak on structural equation modeling in educational research. Paper sessions will follow; with the Annual Business Meeting and Awards luncheon starting at 12:30. Please RSVP at the Registration Desk (sign-up list available) if you plan to attend Friday's luncheon.

Room reservations at the reduced conference rate will be available only until October 14th - please make your hotel reservations early to avoid disappointment! We look forward to seeing everyone in Orlando.

Best regards, Wendy Dickinson

FERA Graduate Student Coordinators

(2007-2009) Karina Gattamorta <u>k.alvarez1@umiami.edu</u>

(2008-2010) Kristina Pineau kpineau@fsu.edu

All graduate students are invited to attend the Graduate Student Meeting at the November Annual Meeting. Refreshments will be provided.

Join us Thursday, November 19th, from 12:15 – 1:15 p.m. for the Graduate Student Meeting, and the Graduate Student Poster Session (1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.).

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Names for consideration for the open FERA Board Positions (2009-2010) should be sent to Bruce Hall, Nominations Committee Chairperson.

bwhall@tampabay.rr.com

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Registration Desk Volunteer Shifts Still Available

Contact Debbie Hahs-Vaughn <u>dhahs@mail.ucf.edu</u> Graduate students who sign up for a shift at the registration desk will receive complimentary conference registration!

Educational Researcher of the Year Award

Robert Dedrick, University of South Florida, is accepting nominations for the Educational Researcher of the Year Award. Please contact him for further details at:

dedrick@tempest.coedu.usf.edu

Russell Kropp Award

Natalie Roca, Sarasota County Public Schools, is accepting nominations for the Russell Kropp Award. Please contact her for further details at:

natalie roca@sarasota.k12.fl.us

Make your hotel reservations by October 14th

The Rosen Centre Hotel has a reservation page set up just for FERA Members. Go to <u>http://feraonline.org</u> and click on the hotel picture. This will take you to a reservation page specifically designed to give you a reduced conference rate of \$104.00. A block of rooms has been reserved for November 17 - 20, 2009. The special room rate will be available until October 14th or until the group block is sold-out, whichever comes first.

Don't delay – reserve today!



Rosen Centre Hotel 9840 International Drive Orlando, FL 32819 (407) 996-9840



Renew your FERA membership online with Paypal at http://feraonline.org/

Thank you to our 2007 I ERA Trogram Commutee Champersons.	
Program Chair, Annual Meeting	John Ferron, University of South Florida <u>ferron@tempest.coedu.usf.edu</u>
Paper Proposal Review	Salih Binici, Florida Department of Education salih.binici@fldoe.org
Awards and Recognition	Ron & Kathy Dailey, Hillsborough and Polk County Schools <u>kathleen.dailey@polk-fl.net</u>
Distinguished Paper Award	Yi-Hsin Chen, University of South Florida <u>ychen@coedu.usf.edu</u>
Educational Researcher of the Year	Robert Dedrick, University of South Florida <u>dedrick@tempest.coedu.usf.edu</u>
Evaluation Committee	Denise Cantalupo, Sarasota County Schools <u>denise_cantalupo@sarasota.k12.fl.usf</u>
Local Arrangements	Debbie Hahs-Vaughn, University of Central Florida <u>dhahs@mail.ucf.edu</u>
Nominating Committee	Bruce W. Hall, Professor Emeritus <u>bwhall@tampabay.rr.com</u>
Russell Kropp Award	Natalie Roca, Sarasota County School natalie roca@sarasota.k12.fl.us
Sponsors and Vendors	Donna Buckner, Polk County Schools <u>donna.buckner@polk-fl.net</u>

Thank you to our 2009 FERA Program Committee Chairpersons: